Home » Uncategorized » Everyone keeps talking about the Status Quo

Everyone keeps talking about the Status Quo

I get blamed for accepting it all the time. I get told (usually by education reformers) that if I don’t agree with their methods, I’m accepting the status quo. 

I guess what they mean by status quo is the whole “failing schools epidemic.” Or “bad teachers.” Or “terrible unions.”

To me, the status quo just looks like people in power suppressing the voices of those who don’t agree with them. Kind of like the way critical thinking, balanced discussion, creativity, divergent perspectives, and student voice are suppressed in schools in favor of compliance and testing. Such a system keeps the powerful in power. 

To echo a wonderful piece of wisdom from Daniel Kao:

If we can’t even give our students a voice, how can we expect to give them an education?

I refuse to be silenced, and the students I teach refuse it as well.

 

 

Leave a Reply

